PMB1111 Ugbowo Lagos Express Road.

+234 81 41772992

24/7 Customer Support

Members Of House Of Representative Committee On Health Institutions Visit UBTH

[bt_section][bt_row][bt_column width=”1/1″][bt_hr top_spaced=”topSmallSpaced” bottom_spaced=”bottomExtraSmallSpaced” transparent_border=”noBorder” el_class=”” el_style=”” responsive=””][/bt_hr][bt_text] Members of the House of Representative Committee on health institutions were in the University of Benin Teaching Hospital for an oversight function on Wednesday, 16th September, 2020. The House Committee inspected ongoing capital projects in the Hospital. These projects, which are at various completion stages, were evaluated vis-à-vis the amount of money released so far. The projects are;
  • The National Health Insurance Scheme complex (NHIS),
  • The House Officers residence,
  • Renal complex,
  • Brachytherapy complex, and
  • Cardiac centre
Juxtaposing the amount released for these projects with the level of completion and quality of work done, the House Committee was impressed with Management’s prudence. [/bt_text][bt_text] After the inspection, the Committee had an interactive session with Management, Heads of Departments and Union leaders. During the session, the CMD gave a briefing of the Hospital’s vision, mission and overall progress. Also, the Management of UBTH duly presented all documents requested by the House Committee, a gesture that they, in turn, appreciated. Later in the session, the House Committee listened to and duly noted comments and issues raised by the Unions. In his response, the Chairman of the House Committee on Health Institutions, Hon. Dr. Pascal Chigozie Obi, commended Management and staff of UBTH. He stated that the Committee was impressed with what they saw in UBTH; the environment, harmonious working relationship existing between Management and Staff as well as developmental strides of the Hospital. The Committee encouraged the Management led by Prof. D. E. Obaseki to keep up the good works and pledged its readiness to support the Hospital when called upon. Other members of the Committee are; Hon. Amos Gwamma, Hon. Benjamin Okozie, Hon. Dike Chisom Promise, Hon. Amobi Yimusa, Hon. Bago Dachung, Mrs. Joyce Umoren (Clerk), Habib Illiasu, Chika Anosike, Uche Ogbu, Peter Ezeala. [/bt_text][bt_hr top_spaced=”topSmallSpaced” bottom_spaced=”bottomExtraSmallSpaced” transparent_border=”noBorder” el_class=”” el_style=”” responsive=””][/bt_hr]

Leave a Reply


The University of Benin Teaching Hospital was taken over by the Federal Government on April 1st, 1975 as the fifth teaching hospital coming after Ibadan Teaching Hospital and Lagos Teaching Hospital.

Recent Posts

Follow Us

Sign up for our Newsletter