PMB1111 Ugbowo Lagos Express Road.

+234 81 41772992

24/7 Customer Support

The University of Benin Teaching Hospital Staff Multipurpose Cooperative Society (UBTH SMPCS)

The University of Benin Teaching Hospital Staff Multipurpose Cooperative Society (UBTH SMPCS) has been recognised and won multiple awards organised by the the Cooperative Rating and Award Society of Nigeria, in collaboration with Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, Abuja.
-Most Outstanding Cooperative Society in Nigeria in Year 2022. -Most well Managed Society of Year 2022; The President of the Society, Mr. Ojo Godfrey Osas also won the “Exemplary Leadership Award of Excellence for Cooperative Management and Development. The recognition of UBTH SMPCS was sequel to the nomination by the Edo state Ministry of Business, Trade and Cooperatives through the office of the Director of Cooperative and subsequent assessment of the Management Committee and College of Jurors of the Cooperative Rating and Award Society of Nigeria. The Rating and Award Institution, tracks, monitors, and evaluates Cooperative Socio-Economic impacts to Members, communities and the nation at Large. The awards were presented at an elaborate ceremony held at the prestigious Nicon Luxury Hotel, Maitama, Abuja, on the 19th, November 2022. The ceremony was graced by Cooperative Societies across the nation. The President of UBTH SMPCS, Mr. Ojo Godfrey Osas, in company of his management team, presented the awards to the Management of the University of Benin Teaching Hospital (UBTH) ably lead by Prof. Darlington Obaseki in appreciation of the enormous support, goodwill and provision of an enabling environment for the Cooperative Society to operate. He remarked that the Chief Medical Director has been a source of immeasurable encouragement and has contributed in the going concern of the Society in practical instances. In his response, the Chief Medical Director, who was exultantly proud and joyful, appreciated the President and Management Committee of the Society for their outstanding dedication and commitment in the management of the Society over the years which has positively impacted on the lives of members who are staff of the hospital. He added that his support for the society is in recognition of the fact that the Society is a strategic partner in the wellbeing of staff. He assured that the Management of the hospital will continue to collaborate with the Society to improve the fortune of staff. The University of Benin Teaching Hospital Staff Multi-purpose Co-operative Society was established in Year 2003 with 123 members and has been providing quality services to members and non-members ever since. The membership of the Society has risen to 4,676.

Leave a Reply


The University of Benin Teaching Hospital was taken over by the Federal Government on April 1st, 1975 as the fifth teaching hospital coming after Ibadan Teaching Hospital and Lagos Teaching Hospital.

Recent Posts

Follow Us

Sign up for our Newsletter